The award will be presented in a ceremony at the Smithsonian National Museum of American History. The inventors will be recognized for their development of the Plasma Transferred Wire Arc (PTWA) Thermal Spray Apparatus and Method, which applies a coating of molten metal to the interior of aluminum engine bores to increase efficiency and reduce costs. The invention was perfected by Flame-Spray Industries Inc. and Ford Motor Company. It was first implemented in the 2009 Motor Trend Car of the Year, the 2008 Nissan GT-R. The PTWA technology has also been licensed to outside companies including Caterpillar's remanufacturing business, which repairs parts that would otherwise be discarded. The PTWA improves fuel consumption by reducing engine and overall vehicle weight. It provides a lower cost, lower weight alternative to cast iron engine liners. By applying a wear-resistant coating, the PTWA can improve part life. It reduces internal friction losses and bore distortion and improves heat transfer, improving engine efficiency. The National Inventor of the Year Award fosters the spirit of American innovation and highlights the protection offered to inventors by the patent system. The Award is the best known honor for recent American inventors, having gone previously to those responsible for the development of the Jarvik Seven Artificial Heart, Bose speaker technology, Powercore(R) LED technology and other patented breakthrough inventions. The award will be presented by John Engler, President and CEO of the National Association of Manufacturers and former three-term governor of Michigan.

External Link